INTERVIEW: Perdita, former Royal Ballet School Student

Perdita: Former Royal Ballet School Student 

Image

Tell us about your dance background. What have been the highlights of your career and training thus far?

I began dancing at my Mum’s dance school (Joyce Mason School of Dance) where I studied ballet, tap, and jazz. Ballet was always what appealed to me most; I find it hard to remember a time when I wasn’t dreaming about being a ballerina! Even though my Mum was my teacher, she never pushed me to dance; in fact she didn’t want me to get into dance because she knew how hard the life was. I, however, was sure it was what I wanted to do! I joined the Junior Associates of the Royal Ballet at age 9 before going to The Royal Ballet School full time at age 11. I had to work hard, it was a strong class and I was sure everyone else was much better than me! I think the highlight of my training so far has to be performing the principal role in an excerpt of Coppelia when I was in my final year at White Lodge.

You trained at The Royal Ballet School. What was that experience like?

It was an amazing experience! It was very hard work, which prepares you very well for a professional dancer’s life! When I first joined the school I had no idea what kind of talent was out there so it was a shock when I realized how good everyone was! It meant I could never get complacent, I was always striving for more because the minute you let things slip you very quickly fall behind everyone else.  Being away from home meant that we all became very close friends and have so many funny stories to tell of our time at school! In my first few years at the Lower School I was very fortunate to perform children’s roles in The Royal Ballet’s productions of La Sylphide, The Nutcracker, and Swan Lake. Performing on the Royal Opera House stage with some of the best dancers in the world was incredible! When I moved to the Upper School it was a scary but exciting transition. Everything was more intense, longer hours in the studio, bigger competition, much more expected of you, and having to learn to do everything for yourself. It’s hard at first but we all adapted pretty fast—you didn’t really have a choice! I feel so lucky to have had the training that I’ve had and have met wonderful people on the way!

How has ballet changed you?

Ballet made me grow up and learn to look after myself! You have to be aware of your health from a very young age because no one wants to lose their role to someone else because of sickness or injury. That’s not to say we don’t know how to relax and have a good time once in a while, you just have to learn to be sensible or you’ll pay for it eventually.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Performing! Other than that I have no idea, but not knowing is all part of the excitement!

What should people know about the life of a ballet student?

That you have to be completely serious about dedicating yourself to ballet; if you only give yourself half-heartedly you will have a hard time. And your teachers know everything! They can see right through you. They know who’s having doubts or not working their hardest, even if you try to act like you are! And finally, your training goes by so quickly so make the most of it!

QUICK QUESTION AND ANSWER:

Favorite leotard brand?

Wear Moi.

Favorite dancer?

There are so many! I will say that Natalia Osipova and Maria Kochetkova are at the top of my long list of favorite dancers!

Pre-performance/audition ritual?

I have to go over everything in my head again and again so I’m sure I won’t forget anything onstage! Apart from that I don’t like to do anything too different to what I would usually or it makes me more nervous.

Guilty pleasure?

Chocolate! I have a terrible sweet tooth! 

Leave a comment